Twitter For Beginners: Step 1

Hey guys, so I know I said that one of your new year’s resolutions should be to tweet, so I’ve put together an easy step-by-step guide on how to get started. I’m going to give you a new step each week to help you on your way to being a Twitter rock star (or the coolest mom ever, or the ‘cool tech-savvy’ person in the office,…)!

 

Step 1: Set up an Account

First, go to Twitter, and set up an account. The screen you will get will look something like this:

Twitter

From here, opt to create a new account (you may be tempted to add twitter to your smartphone; wait until you have set up an account to do this). You should then be taken to this screen:

Twitter2

You DO NOT have to fill in your real name if you don’t want to, but make sure you write down your password so you won’t forget it. After you’ve got all your details plugged in you will be taken to your ‘profile’ page or main screen. I’ve screencapped what mine looks like below (please note that I created all my own custom graphics for it, and would be happy to make some for yours as well):

Twitter3

Once you are here, you’ll notice you have no tweets, no profile information, and you also won’t have any images. To get started on these go to the ‘wheel’ shaped icon above like so:

Twitter4

From here, go to ‘Settings’ to customize your twitter:

Twitter5

First, make sure your account information is correct. there will be a sidebar with options like ‘profile’ and ‘design’. Please make sure you are satisfied with all this info before proceeding. There are many other options like location and connecting to Facebook if desired. You can play with that later. Click ‘profile’ next:

Twitter7

Here you can upload your photo (your tweeting icon) and your header (the image for your header bar where your profile is listed). You can also fill in your bio, add a website, your location (optional) and your name (also optional). Remember that there is a word limit on your bio, so choose wisely (you can always fix it later). If you see an options to ‘protect’ your tweets DO NOT DO IT. This is will defeat the entire purpose of you tweeting. Next click design:

Twitter6

Here you can select a pretty background for your twitter profile, and even customize your own with the ‘themeleon’ tool. For now, stick to something simple. Next up: let’s tweet!

Twitter8

You are going to see a blue stylus button in the upper righthand corner. This is the ‘compose tweet’ tool. Click this to write a tweet:

Twitter9

When writing a tweet, make sure that you check any ‘#’ and ‘@’ “shoutouts” for correct spelling. No one likes a sloppy tweet (least of all me). To tweet at individuals, use ‘@’ and their correct username in the tweet. Make sure you put something in front of the ‘@’ to make it viewable to all. Hashtags or ‘#’ mentions are like indexed categories. For example, if you are a mom talking about your kids, add ‘#kids’ or Β ‘#family’ at the end of your tweets to index it into the kids and family categories. If you are a student looking for a job, used ‘#recentgrad’ or ‘#employment’ to index it as a tweet from an undergrad looking for a job. Sometimes employers search Twitter for grads looking for jobs; Sometimes celebrity moms search Twitter for cute kids and families to tweet at, you never know.

If you have any questions so far, write “I have a question @ChazNKellogg” in a tweet to me and I’ll answer any questions you have!

24 thoughts on “Twitter For Beginners: Step 1

  1. Ok I am in love with your blog. AND you just might have convinced me to open a twitter account….love your topics, your viewpoints, your step by steps!!! I’m gonna give twitter some thought – maybe your next step by step will convince me:) Thanks for posting!!

  2. Happy SITS Day!

    I just recently started tweeting. It can be a lot of fun and a whole world of information! Thanks for sharing the tutorial! πŸ™‚

    I hope you have a great day!

  3. stopping by from SITS – congrats on being featured. I love Twitter! Just started following you. my twitter @Suec. Have a great day. πŸ™‚

  4. Can I use two hash tags instead of one? Which do you suggest one or two? You have provided me with so much wonderful information. I wondered how people were able to locate me on twitter.

    Blessings~
    Alethea

  5. Happy Sits Day – love your Blog and the interesting but vital information you share. With ‘Social Media New Year Resolutions’, it totally resonated as I have more than a few friends and acquaintances who say (especially when I am around!!) “I am too old for Twitter” or….”who has the time for all this social media, those people who tweet and keep Facebook accounts have too much time on their hands” – I mean, it is endless. So love that advice and I will share that post to my Facebook today!! (smile)

    Best of luck with PR – and all the best and much success for 2013!!

    Jeanine

  6. Happy SITS Day! I’ve been on Twitter for a few years now, but I’ll be honest, it tends to overwhelm me. I try to keep up, but sometimes if I don’t check it in awhile and I come back there are a ton of new tweets! I don’t have the patience to go back through and read them all.

Leave a Reply

