3 Compelling Reasons You Shouldn’t ‘Protect’ Your Tweets

Hey all! This is a quick one, because I want to make sure you all undo this fatal mistake NOW!

So I’ve begun noticing more and more 20-somethings have opted to ‘protect’ their Twitter. Some have claimed this will afford them the privacy to tweet what they only want certain people to see without allowing potential employers to see. Others have said they don’t want their mom reading Twitter, and have chosen to protect their Twitter for the same misguided reasons they (still) haven’t added their parents on Facebook. I have some hard news for you: ‘protecting’ tweets doesn’t actually guarantee your tweets are safe from the eyes of employers, and if your tweets are so vicious you wouldn’t want your mom to read them….maybe you shouldn’t tweet them. Here are some pretty compelling reasons your Twitter doesn’t need any protection:

  1. You didn’t sign up for ‘social’ media to be a loner. If you want to send tweets that only your friends can see, you should just stick to Facebook. Twitter is intrinsically designed for collaboration, conversation, and interaction is its core purpose. If you aren’t willing to contribute your insights to all of Twitter, then spare yourself the trouble of making an account.
  2. It’s not really ‘protecting’ you. In the same way that companies can get information from Facebook, its only a matter of time before they can access your Twitter too. If your tweets aren’t mature enough to survive in the wild, don’t tweet them at all. Tweeting “I hate Nicki Minaj” or “Ughh unemployed!” might be best said aloud in the comfort of your own home by yourself. That’s how you ‘protect’ a tweet.
  3. It prevents you from interacting with cool people. If you hide all your tweets, it hinders cool people from reaching out to you. Example: You tweet “I love @3lau!” unfortunately for you, @3lau isn’t going hear you, and if say he happened to be playing a show near you and having a twitter contest for tickets, you’re going to totally miss it. Bummer. Many celebrities manage their own Twitter handles, and interact with their fanbase often. If you’re protected, you’re disallowing them to reach out to you. How do I know? I tweet at celebrities…and I’ve gotten replied to. A lot. And my tweets are unprotected.
One thought on “3 Compelling Reasons You Shouldn’t ‘Protect’ Your Tweets

  1. Happy SITS day! I definitely used to be one that protected my tweets! I even had a separate open blogging account. I have since closed the blog one and now have all of my tweets unprotected on my personal one! I agree, if you don’t want everyone to see the crazy things you tweet, you probably don’t need to tweet them in the first place.

Leave a Reply

