Unwanted Visitor Mishap

So I should have expected that at some point during my lovely stay in New York, that I would come face to face with a few ugly mugs. I’ve seen rats in the subways at night, I’ve sat next to smelly people on the subway, and I’ve even encountered a handful of unpleasant cat-calls…all with some respectable level of grace. However I do have one kryptonite: when I’m tired, I don’t really handle bugs well, much less cockroaches.

When I rolled in from Electric Zoo on Saturday at a staggering 3 AM, this hideous thing greeted me by jumping out from under the shower curtain, scurrying into the vanity mirror, and scuffling around the sink.

I should be noted that I was at Electric Zoo from 11 PM until close, had probably lost 10 pounds of water from dancing and screaming like a crazed fangirl, and had only had some meatballs and a hummus sandwich. My reaction to the hideous little nasty was probably more comical that effective: I sprayed at it with bathroom cleaner, yelped when it charged at me from the sink, and tried to swing at it with my face towel (not a brilliant idea in retrospect). Too exhausted to deal with it, I ended up chasing it with a plunger in the bathtub and hissing at it. I decided it would be smart to document its existence just in case, and snapped a picture of it before capturing it under the plunger. After I’d finally gotten something to eat, I managed to hit it with end of my loofah stick and promptly threw it in the garbage before taking a much-needed shower, hissing at it again, and going to sleep.

One thought on “Unwanted Visitor Mishap

Leave a Reply

